Edward N. Cole Award for Automotive Engineering Innovation - SAE International

April 2012 - The Society of Automotive Engineers, International (SAE) has awarded the 2011 Edward N. Cole Award for Automotive Engineering Innovation to Professor John J. Moskwa at the Awards Ceremony of the SAE 2012 World Congress in Detroit, Michigan.

  • "He's [Professor Moskwa is] the first university professor anywhere in the world to receive this award in its 34-year history." University of Michigan Michigan Engineer, Vol. XXIV, No. 2, Fall 2012
  • "This is SAE’s most prestigious award for automotive engineering innovation..." MIT Technology Review, Vol. 115, No. 5, Sept. 2012
  • "Judgment is based upon the value of the work as an original innovative contribution, not upon the application of some development or invention already known." SAE International press release, August 2012
  • " You are highly deserving of the award and my dad would have been very pleased that you were selected as the first University professor to receive it. The committee made a great choice." Dr. David E. Cole, Chairman Emeritus: Center for Automotive Research (CAR), and former Director of the Office for the Study of Automotive Transportation (OSAT) at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute (UMTRI)

The award, established in 1978, honors the memory of Edward N. Cole, former President and Chief Operating Officer of General Motors Corporation, and the inspiration he provided to others in the engineering profession by his continuing search and drive for product innovation. The award consists of a framed certificate, and a gold Atmos clock made by Jaeger-LeCoultre of Switzerland ("the Clock of Presidents"). Professor Moskwa is recognized for the innovative high bandwidth, hardware-in-the-loop engine transient test systems that he and his students have designed, patented, developed and built in his Powertrain Control Research Laboratory (PCRL) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

A sampling of previous award recipients include David McLellan (Chief engineer, Chevy Corvette), Stuart Frey (General Manager & Chief Engineer, Ford Mustang), Paul MacCready (designer of the Gossamer Condor), Oliver Kelly (first automotive automatic transmission), Vernon Roosa (diesel fuel injector pump), George Mueller (Saturn V booster, Skylab, Space Shuttle) as well as many other very distinguished engineers. Many of the recipients of this award are also in the National Academy of Engineering, or are recipients of the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

Professor Moskwa is especially grateful to PCRL sponsors, friends, and students for all of their hard work and contributions in his Powertrain Control Research Laboratory (PCRL). At the awards ceremony in the photo are (left to right) Dr. John Lahti, Professor Moskwa, and Dr. Jim Grady. Dr. Lahti was a Research Assistant in PCRL whose engineering work on this single-cylinder engine transient test system technology was key, and Dr. Grady is the Chairman of SAE's Edward N. Cole Award Committee. Several other PCRL students have collaborated on transient test system technology in PCRL over the years, but especially noteworthy, in addition to Dr. Lahti, are the contributions by Matthew Snyder (first Intake Air Simulator), Steven Seaney and Dr. Guy R. Babbitt (first high-bandwidth transient test system for multi-cylinder engines). Also noteworthy are the generous contributions in fluid power consultation by Professor Emeritus Frank J. Fronczak.

[ about | news | facilities | research | people | publications | sponsors | photos | links ]

Copyright © 1989-2016, Powertrain Control Research Laboratory. All rights reserved.
URL: http://powertrain.engr.wisc.edu/